Skip to content ↓

Early Years

Learning and Development

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape the educational provision in the early years settings.

All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Prime Areas
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Staff will also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

Specific Areas
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Within any group of 4/5 year olds there will be a huge variation in development.  For this reason it is vital that we meet individual needs and that the activities provided for each child will be very different